SOME PODCAST THAT ARE A MUST-LISTEN IF YOU WORK IN THE FILM INDUSTRY

SOME PODCAST THAT ARE A MUST-LISTEN IF YOU WORK IN THE FILM INDUSTRY

by Skye Von

Well, of course a must-listen is relative, but I do think these podcast are super helpful and informative for anyone in the film industry.

1. The Treatment:

My favorite is Elvis Mitchell’s The Treatment on KCRW. I don’t think there is a better interviewer living today. I am not only amazed by Elvis’s immense knowledge but what I think makes him so special, is that he possess a sensitivity and understanding of the bigger picture of a filmmakers/writer/producer’s internal inspiration, motivation and intention. Actually most of the times, he surprises the interviewees themselves when he points out something seemingly obvious about their life work, which they themselves had not been aware of. I love those moments because they make his interviews so rich.

Psst, don’t tell anyone, but I would count it as one of the biggest accomplishments if Elvis were to invite me on his show- right up there with winning an Oscar!

http://www.kcrw.com/news-culture/shows/the-treatment

2. The Business:

Another great podcast is Kim Masters’s The Business. Kim is Editor-at-Large of the Hollywood Reporter, and she covers film, as well as TV. This is a great one to stay up to date with what is the buzz in the Hollywood Entertainment world on a weekly basis and also feature insightful interviews with filmmakers and other shakers in the industry.

http://www.kcrw.com/news-culture/shows/the-business

3. The Spin-Off:

Kim Masters created The Spin-Off with Joe Adalian, and Michael Schneider, her banter buddies on The Business, after the three realized that the world of TV business deserves a podcast all on its own. Similarly to The Business, this podcast will keep you up to date on what is happening in the business this week, but specifically regarding the TV world, and of course it also features great interviews with creators of the TV business.

http://www.kcrw.com/news-culture/shows/the-spin-off

4. The Frame

The Frame on KPCC hosted by John Horn is another fantastic podcast that should be on everyone’s list, even though it is much broader because it also covers art, music, publishing; basically anything related to media and art. Since it airs every weekday, I just pick and choose the podcasts which focus on film and TV.

http://www.scpr.org/programs/the-frame/

5. Voice of VR

With many of you, like myself, having made or making or thinking about making the switch into VR & AR, I recommend you check out Voices of VR. The podcast is published three to five days a week featuring interviews with the pioneering game developers, enthusiasts, and technologists driving the resurgence of virtual reality. It’s hosted by Kent Bye, who has traveled to the top VR gatherings around the world since May 2014 to bring you a diverse range of VR perspectives and insights from over 500 makers and seasoned academics. When I first started working in this field two years ago, it is here that I learned the lingo I needed to translate my wild ideas into reality and also about the technology currently available and the challenges others face which relate to my own and helped me grow as a VR content creator.

I am only listing my favorite industry podcasts here, but I also recommend that as a storyteller you add story podcasts like The MothThis American Life or Strangers to your listening list. These story podcasts are a wonderful source of inspiration for ideas for storylines and characters for me.

Wishing you all happy listening!

Leave a Reply

